Withdrawal Agreement Specialised Committees

Unless otherwise stipulated in this agreement or if the co-chairs do not decide otherwise, the specialized committees meet at least once a year. Other meetings may take place at the request of the EU, the United Kingdom or the Joint Committee. They are co-chaired by representatives of the Union and the United Kingdom. The specialized committees agree on their timetable and agenda. Specialized commissions can develop draft decisions and recommendations and submit them to the joint committee for adoption. 2. The work of the specialised committees is based on the internal regulations contained in Schedule VIII of this agreement. 3. The EU and the United Kingdom ensure that their respective representatives on the specialist committees have the expertise to answer outstanding questions. The VA has delegated a number of agreements concerning the separation of the UK from the EU and the management of the agreement to the joint committee on which it was decided. These include tasks related to the implementation of the Protocol on Ireland and Northern Ireland. 1. The following specialized committees are formed: 4.

Specialized committees inform the joint committee, in a timely manner before their meetings, of their meeting plans and agenda and present to the joint committee the results and conclusions of each of their meetings. The creation or existence of a technical commission does not prevent the Union or the United Kingdom from bringing the joint committee directly to the joint committee. For more information on the joint committee and governance structures put in place by the VA, see Section 7 of the Briefing of the Commons Library 8453 On the UK`s withdrawal agreement from the EU. Note that this briefing was on the November 2018 version of the VA. The VA was revised in October 2019, but the governance structures and the main body of the agreement remained unchanged. The protocol on Ireland and Northern Ireland has been extensively revised. See Briefing Paper 8713, The October 2019 EU UK Withdrawal Agreement The WA established a Joint Committee, which is “responsible for the implementation and application of [the] Agreement” (Article 164). The UK and the EU will work to resolve all disputes over the implementation of the agreement in the Joint Committee. But if no solution can be found, the disputes will be referred to an arbitration tribunal. These specialized committees are made up of representatives from the EU and the United Kingdom.

. Michael Gove, Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, is Co-Chair of the Committee for the United Kingdom (with Governor General Penny Mordaunt as Deputy) and Mr Maroé Efsovic, Vice-President of the European Commission, for the EU. Both parties agreed to continue technical work on the information requirements of the financial provisions of the withdrawal agreement. They pledged to continue to cooperate on a number of issues in order to recognize the mutual interest in the smooth implementation of the financial provisions of the withdrawal agreement. Apart from this, the United Kingdom confirmed that it would provide more than $200 million more to the PEACE PLUS programme by 2027, in addition to the $300 million already pledged, recognizing its significant contribution to the promotion of peace and reconciliation, as well as to the cross-border economic and territorial development of Northern Ireland and the border region of Ireland. EU-UK Joint and Specialised Committee Meetings as part of the Withdrawal Agreement The second meeting of the Technical Committee on Financial Settlements (SCFP) was held today by video conference, under the joint chairmanship of officials of the European Commission and the UK Government.